the board

Board of Directors

The members of our Board of Directors use their considerable industry experience and business leadership to develop BMT’s mission, vision and strategy.

  • Sir John Hood

    Sir John Hood KNZM

    Non-executive Chairman

    Sir John Hood KNZM joined BMT Group Ltd as Chairman in October 2015, following the retirement of Dr Neil Cross. Sir John is a non-executive Director of BG Group plc and WPP plc, Chairman of Matakina Ltd, and Study Group Ltd; President and Chief Executive Officer of the Robertson Foundation; and Chair of the Rhodes Trust and Teach For All.

    For five years Sir John served as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford and, before that, as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Auckland after a successful career at Fletcher Challenge, New Zealand’s largest industrial conglomerate.

    With a Bachelor of Engineering and a PhD in Civil Engineering from the University of Auckland, Sir John was awarded a Rhodes Scholarship to study at the University of Oxford where he read for an MPhil in Management Studies. He was appointed a Knight Companion to the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2014.

  • Sarah Kenny

    Sarah Kenny

    Chief Executive

    Sarah joined BMT on 1st August 2017 and comes from QinetiQ, with deep knowledge of the maritime defence and commercial sectors. As an active mentor, and a STEM ambassador, she’s passionate about developing people to help them realise their potential. Sarah’s latest role at QinetiQ saw her establish and lead the Maritime, Land & Weapons business as Managing Director, reporting to the Group CEO. She has a solid track record of delivering customer success and strong business performance, whilst harnessing innovation through rapid development and exploitation of ideas and technology.

    Sarah is very proud to be an Honorary Officer of the Royal Navy.

  • Ian Davies, non-executive director at BMT Group

    Ian Davies

    Non-executive Deputy Chairman

    Ian Davies was appointed a non-executive Director in 2006 and Deputy Chairman in 2010. He is Chairman of the Remuneration Sub-Committee, a member of the Audit Sub-Committee and Chairman of BMT’s Employee Benefit Trust.

    Ian is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and has held a number of non-executive Director and Chairman positions. He was previously a Visiting Fellow of the Department of Strategy at Cranfield University School of Management and a partner at Coopers & Lyband. He is currently a non-executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee at ASK Europe Plc and Harvey Nash Plc.

  • Wendy Barnes

    Wendy Barnes

    Non-executive Director

    Wendy Barnes was appointed a non-executive Director in 2013. She is presently a non-executive Director of OFWAT, the economic regulator of the water industry in England and Wales, of Foreign & Commonwealth Office Services and the Met Office. She is an external advisor to Templar Executives, who provide cyber security consultancy and training.

    Wendy was Interim Chief Operating Officer for the UK Government’s Department of Energy & Climate Change from September 2011 to December 2012 and was previously a non-executive Director of the Board of the Ministry of Defence’s Defence Equipment and Support organisation (DE&S) and a non-executive Director of two Government security departments.

    Prior to this Wendy spent eleven years with United Utilities and ten years with British Nuclear Fuels in a wide range of roles including customer service, marketing and business development.

  • David McSweeney, Finance Director at BMT Group

    David McSweeney

    Finance Director

    With over 27 years’ experience as a chartered accountant, David McSweeney was appointed Finance Director in 2001. David enjoyed a successful accountancy career as a senior audit and corporate finance partner at Baker Tilly. He has helped many different types of business and specialised in people businesses within the design, engineering and technology and property sectors, both as a trusted advisor and as a non-executive Director.

    His extensive experience of corporate finance and treasury matters has ranged from small owner managed businesses to large public listed companies in the FTSE 100 and on NASDAQ. David was a finalist in the Institute of Directors’ 2012 “Director of the Year – large company section” and is a 3rd Dan black belt in karate.

    He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and served as a member of the Technical and Practical Auditing Committee providing guidance to the profession.

  • Charles Packshaw

    Charles Packshaw

    Non-executive Director

    Charles Packshaw was appointed a non-executive Director in 2014.

    Charles has thirty years’ experience working with financial institutions in the City of London and is currently Head of UK Advisory at HSBC Bank. He was previously Managing Director of Lazard’s Corporate Finance Division.

    Charles is a non-executive Director of Diploma PLC and a member of its Audit and Remuneration Committee. He has formerly been a non-executive Director of The Restaurant Group, where he was Chairman of the Audit Committee, and of Diagonal PLC and a trustee of the Lazard Directors Pension Scheme.  He has recently been appointed as Chairman of Prostate Cancer UK.

  • Minoo Patel, non-executive director at BMT Group

    Professor Minoo Patel

    Non-executive Director

    Minoo Patel was appointed a non-executive Director in 2010. He is a member of the Audit Sub-Committee and is Chairman of the Innovation Board.

    Minoo is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of Development in the School of Engineering at Cranfield University, an independent Director of Keppel Offshore & Marine Ltd, a Director of BPP Technical Services Ltd and of BPP Cables Ltd. He has worked since 1976 on the engineering of offshore oil and gas exploration and production structures and the associated subsea systems, with the application of this experience to maritime renewable energy in recent years.